About

Participating State Associations & Contacts

The Think First campaign was originally developed in 2018 for Media of Nebraska. The campaign elements were distributed to Nebraska newspapers, radio and TV stations with a request for them to consider supporting the campaign. In July of 2019, a number of other state broadcast associations and state press associations asked their respective members to consider supporting the campaign in their respective states, which include:

Alabama

Alabama Broadcasters Association
Sharon Tinsley
stinsley@al-ba.com

Alabama Press Association
Felicia Mason
Felicia@alabamapress.org

Alaska

Alaska Broadcasters Association
Cathy Hiebert
akbagold@gci.net

California

California News Publishers Association
Tom Newton
tom@cnpa.com

Colorado

Colorado Broadcasters Association
Justin Sasso
justin@coloradobroadcasters.org 

Colorado Press Association
Jill Farschman
ceo@colopress.net

Connecticut

Connecticut Broadcasters Association
Michael Ryan
mryan@ctba.org                    

Georgia

Georgia Association of Broadcasters
Bob Houghton
bhoughton@gab.org 

Idaho

Idaho Broadcasters Association
Connie Searles
isba@idahobroadcasters.org

Illinois

Illinois Broadcasters Association
Dennis Lyle
dlyleiba@gmail.com

Indiana

Indiana Broadcasters Association
Dave Arland
dave@indianabroadcasters.org

Hoosier State Press Association
Steve Key
skey@hspa.com

Kansas

Kansas Association of Broadcasters
Kent Cornish
kent@kab.net

Kansas Press Association
Emily Bradbury
ebradbury@kspress.com

Kentucky

Kentucky Broadcasters Association
Chris Winkle
chris@kba.org

Kentucky Press Association
David Thompson
dthompson@kypress.com

Louisiana

Louisiana Association of Broadcasters
Polly Johnson
pollyjohnson@broadcasters.org

Louisiana Press Association
Will Chapman
will@lapress.org

Maine

Maine Association of Broadcasters
Suzanne Goucher
suzanne@mab.org 

Maine Press Association
Diane Norton
mainepressmail@gmail.com

Minnesota

Minnesota Broadcasters Association
Wendy Paulson
wendy.paulson@minnesotabroadcasters.com 

Minnesota Newspaper Association
Lisa Hills
lisa@mna.org

Mississippi

Mississippi Association of Broadcasters
Amanda Fontaine
amanda@msbroadcasters.org  

Mississippi Press Association
Layne Bruce
publisher73@gmail.com

Missouri

Missouri Broadcasters Association 
Mark Gordon
mgordon@mbaweb.org

Missouri Press Association
Mark Maassen
mmaassen@socket.net

Montana

Montana Broadcasters Association
Dewey Bruce
dbruce@mtbroadcasters.org

Nebraska

Nebraska Broadcasters Association
Jim Timm
jim@ne-ba.org 

Nebraska Press Association
Allen Beermann
abeermann@nebpress.com  

Nevada

Nevada Broadcasters Association
Mitch Fox
mitch@nevadabroadcasters.org

New Hampshire

New Hampshire Association of Broadcasters
Tracy Caruso
tracy@nhab.org

North Dakota

North Dakota Broadcasters Association
Beth Helfrich
bethh@ndba.org

North Dakota Newspaper Association
Steve Andrist
stevia@ndna.com

Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania NewsMedia Association
Matthew Caylor
matthewc@pa-news.org

South Carolina

South Carolina Press Association
Bill Rogers
brogers@scpress.org

Regional

Southern Newspaper Publishers Association
Edward VanHorn
edward@snpa.org

South Dakota

South Dakota Broadcasters Association
Steve Willard
steve@willardandassociates.com

South Dakota Newspaper Association
Dave Bordewyk
daveb@sdna.org

Texas

Texas Press Association
Mike Hodges
mhodges@texaspress.org

Utah

Utah Press Association
Brian Allfrey
ballfrey@utahpress.com

Vermont

Vermont Association of Broadcasters
Wendy Mays
vab@vab.org

Vermont Press Association
Mike Donoghue
mdonoghue@smcvt.edu

Wisconsin

Wisconsin Association of Broadcasters
Michelle Vetterkind
mvetterkind@wi-broadcasters.org

Wisconsin Newspaper Association
Beth Bennett
beth.bennett@wnanews.com

Wyoming

Wyoming Association of Broadcasters
Laura Grott 
lauragrott@gmail.com

Wyoming Press Association
Darcie Hoffland
wyopress@wyopress.org

About Media of Nebraska

Media of Nebraska is a non-profit 501(c)(6) corporation that was formed in 1977 by members of the broadcast and print media to purely and jointly pursue freedom of information through open meetings and public records as mandated by the statutes of Nebraska law.  Our work is focused on supporting our member journalists’ task of serving as a watchdog for the citizens of Nebraska, by monitoring and acting on legislative matters that may impact freedom of information through state, county and municipal government entities and political subdivisions.  We are a nonpolitical organization and make no contributions to the campaigns of any person running for any elected office nor to any organized parties that may support candidates for elected office.

Media of Nebraska Members

Our membership is comprised of the Omaha World-Herald, Lincoln Journal Star, Nebraska Broadcasters Association, Nebraska Press Association and the Nebraska Daily Publishers Association.

Media of Nebraska Officers

President
Melissa Matczak
Omaha World-Herald
melissa.matczak@owh.com
402-444-1088

Vice President/Secretary
Jim Timm
Nebraska Broadcasters Association
jim@ne-ba.org
402-933-5995

Treasurer
Allen Beermann
Nebraska Press Association
abeermann@nebpress.com
402-476-2851

Campaign Media

Television Spots

Radio Spots

Radio :30 Spot 1

Radio :30 Spot 2

Radio :30 Spot 3

Radio :30 Spot 4

Radio :30 Spot 5

Ad Downloads

Newspaper Ad Series